Chennai Romeos

  • 10:20:42 pm on September 22, 2006 | 1

    I am a big fan of firefox and I have been trying to get everyone I know to use it (yes Kanna, you!).

    It is free and open source! You can customize it to your heart’s content.. here are some of the things I love about it!

    • Tabbed browsing: This was the killer feature that made me switch from IE before I realized its full power!
    • Extensions: There are millions of them or atleast thousands of them and I will talk about my favorites soon. I check my gmail, local weather, current chennai time, etc right from my browser thanks to extensions.
    • Themes: I change the way Firefox looks depending on my mood! Right now, I am using SphereGnome.
    • Block Popups: Newer IE does this as well but wait till you see what a couple of extensions can do! With Adblock and Adblock Filterset.G Updater , you automatically get a huge list of websites to be blocked. Think about this.. your other option is to block sites with bad popups manually as you encounter them than to have it done for you with up-to-date data!!
    • Livemarks: This is a way to keep track of websites, blogs you like without having to go to the site! I will talk about RSS and similar stuff in a future post.

    Go ahead download and try Firefox! I guarantee you that you will love it, if you surf the web a lot like I do.. or I will give you you money back. Oh wait, it is free! ;-p

    Still not convinced? Check out Top Ten Reasons to Switch to Firefox.

     

Comments


Leave a Reply

