Chennai Romeos

  • 03:05:34 pm on November 4, 2006 | 7

    If you are like me and try to keep track of your task lists at work and at home and on the quest for keeping things organized.. look no further! I think I have found the holy grail!!

    Everyone has heard about Wikipedia and there wiki’s popping up everywhere. From this was born TiddlyWiki. From Wikipedia,

    TiddlyWiki is a single self-contained HTML file that includes CSS and JavaScript code. When the user downloads it to their PC, TiddlyWiki can save the entered information by overwriting itself on the user’s disk, at the user’s request.

    It is a non-linear way of storing information. The great thing about it is it’s portability. Because it’s all in a single html file, you can email it to yourself or store it in a USB flash drive or put it up in a web server and you can access it anywhere!!

    Now you know what TiddlyWiki is. let’s move on to a another method for an organized nirvana called Getting Things Done by David Allen. Again from the Wikipedia,

    GTD rests on the principle that a person needs to move tasks out of their mind and get them recorded somewhere. That way, the mind is freed from the job of remembering everything that needs to be done, and can concentrate fully on actually performing those tasks.

    I came across an application which was a marriage between TiddlyWiki and GTD naturally named GTD TiddlyWiki on Lifehacker. That article has some nice instructions on how to get started with this. This was really nice but after reading the comments in that article I came across another variant called the Monkey GTD.

    GTD TW was nice but lacked a way to organize tasks into Contexts/Projects and checking them off as I got done with them. Monkey GTD has a snazzy Dashboard with checkboxes for tasks which you can check off as you finish them. It was not very intuitive to start with.. but after playing with it for a couple of days, I am addcited to it now!!

    I started using the MonkeyGTD and shuttling them between work and home through mailing it to my Gmail account. But, soon it seemed like a lot of work. Now, I had to remember to email myself at the end of the day and again email myself from home before I leave to work! There’s got be an elegant solution. How about hosting it on a web server and accessing it anywhere? Voila.. a great innovative idea right? I felt like Archimedes.. Not!

    TiddlySpot has already done it and they offer various flavors of TiddlyWiki including MonkeyGTD. And for FREE.. yep free as in beer! And the registration can’t eb any easier.. it takes 10 secs to get your own site. You can make it public or private!

    If anyone is interested in learning how to get started with MonkeyGTD, please leave a comment and I will follow up with a post on how to use it! I am not claiming to be an expert but I can share my experiences..

    Get organized now!!

     

Comments

  • Koenie 6:44 am on December 21, 2006 | # | Reply

    Hey karthiik, I’m a fan as well and using MonkeyGTD since a couple of weeks.
    Any experiences you would like to share?

  • schilke 10:48 am on December 21, 2006 | # | Reply

    d3 (“d-cubed” http://dcubed.ca/) is also worth to have a look at. A slightly different approach – just to let you know (you should have noticed that it’s also preconfigured at tiddlyspot…)

    There’s also a heavy reworked Alpha of MGTD which is officially treated as a “preview”: http://mgtd-alpha.tiddlyspot.com/ (more info here: http://tiddlywikiguides.org/index.php?title=Getting_started_with_MonkeyGTD_2.1_alpha)

  • Rahim 4:42 am on December 23, 2006 | # | Reply

    Rocking awesome little application, you’ve got to try it to believe it.

  • Richard 1:31 am on January 2, 2007 | # | Reply

    Yup, having spent the last week looking at GTD systems (ok.. perhaps an example of GTD systems helping to not GTD😉 I agree that monkeyGTD is fab, although I am still trying to get my head around the tabing for projects etc. I still sort of feel the need for a general purpose inbox where I throw all the ideas etc before I tab and sort them. Right now the Hipster still works best for me for this.

  • Sam 11:38 am on January 10, 2007 | # | Reply

    I’ve been using it for a few months now and love it. Have also adapted it with the help of a few plugins to a Wedding Planner.

  • nineowls 3:02 pm on February 9, 2007 | # | Reply

    Monkey GTD has been working for me since 1.0.?
    I would like to have it with me all the time; Keeping looking at a Sharp Zaurus but too frugal to spring for one so far.

  • guinnessisgood 5:46 am on June 11, 2007 | # | Reply

    Having now tried Monkey GTD and installed Tracks, he tI really wish for a cross between two. Maybe someone can help me with attaching dates to my monkey projects and actions. That works very nicely with Tracks, but I don’t get a dashboard like I do in Monkey GTD. I also like the realms in Monkey GTD as while I’m at work, I don’t like to be distracted by personal work. Any help with the dates issue would be appreciated.

    Jeff


Leave a Reply

